My new exercise program in the gym and my old swimming routine. Today at the gym

John Boyter
3 min readDec 8, 2022

--

My favorite forms of exercise

From my favorite forms of exercise, long brisk walks in nature are on hold. It’s December, and it’s getting cold. And pilates/yoga is on hold. Difficult to find the right place to go for it. Apparently most places in Denmark it’s mostly for women. I don’t really know why. So I am sticking to swimming indoors and training with weights in the gym the next couple of winter months here in Aarhus, Denmark.

Swimming in Denmark

I have been continuing my recent swimming routine twice a week where in the past in Santo Domingo it was at best on average once a week a 1000 meters. Now it’s been 1500 meters on average and sometimes I have swum 2000 meters. The indoor swimming pool where I go is surprisingly warm and pleasant. Not how I remember indoor swimming pools in Denmark over twenty-thirty years ago smelling strongly of chlorine and feeling chilly.

The gym

I am enjoying my new gym membership. It is a really nice and cozy gym. The personal trainer at the gym Mo helped me set up a program which I am following and I am adding some more exercises. I have made it all three times twelve repetitions. Kettlebell swings for hips and goblet squats also using a kettlebell. Some new terminology to me. I include an incline dumbbell press routine for the upper body and one arm dumbbell row on a bench for the back muscles. Finally triceps and biceps using cable machines.

My training program is lacking cardiovascular training

It takes about an hour and I don’t mind if my workout becomes one and a half hours three times a week. I don’t yet do enough cardiovascular training though. When swimming I try to sprint but I don’t really get going properly but it’s where I have succeeded the most with interval training. In, my gym program I start on an exercise bicycle as a warmup for twenty minutes but I get kind of lazy on it and just sit and enjoy the view of the busy street and old buildings in the distance.

--

--

John Boyter

Becoming a writer. My purpose with my writing is to be entertaining, and maybe the reader can learn something from it or be inspired. Nomadic Blog Writer.